CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Shinko tires advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2011, 01:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shinko tires advice

Im trying to get tires for my cbr f3 and the type of riding i will be doing is all beginner level riding. I also will never ride if wet....im not that experienced yet. Im looking at these tires...anybody got any advice. I only got about 200$ to spend on tires.

Shinko 005 Advance Tire Combo 120/60-17 and 160/60-17 | eBay

Old 05-03-2011, 04:29 PM

I bought them and they looked/felt fine to me...but then the shop installed 2CTs instead

but I'd go for it. I haven't heard anything bad about them

Old 05-03-2011, 06:35 PM

Go to ebay, you can get a nice set of dulop Q2's for just over $200

Old 05-03-2011, 06:44 PM

They are good tires. However I just picked up a set of Contimotion tires for $155 delivered from Motosport.com . They got good reviews . I have not installed them yet but they should be just fine for the riding you are doing.

Old 05-03-2011, 07:35 PM
Super Moderator
Received 496 Likes on 449 Posts

Based on your riding style it would be a waste to purchase performance tires when you're just going to wear out the middle of them. And, there's nothing wrong with that seeing as you're a beginning rider. You need to take it easy and get your skills up. The Shinko's are an excellent choice and if you go to Motorcycle SuperStore, they offer free shipping for less money that you were going to spend on ebay.

Old 05-03-2011, 07:46 PM
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm running the Shinko 009's and don't have any complaints. Came with the bike (brand new) so they only have 600miles on them. So far so good, they are a stable, firm ride. Haven't been in more than a light rain, did fine there (and plan to or not, you WILL end up in the rain at some time). lol