CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Shifting into First..

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2007, 05:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shifting into First..

I am new to the bike world and was wondering if it is normal for the bike to make a somewhat loud clicking noise when shifting into first gear from neutral.Sorry i'm not really sure how to explain it... in other words, should the bike shift into gears without hearing any clicks or noise? i just want to make sure everything on my bike is working correctly and all fluids and oil are at correct levels..thanks

Old 03-13-2007, 06:06 AM
Retired Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Shifting into First..

Some bikes no, they shift to 1st smooth ... most cbr's yes, they clunk into 1st loudly but the trade off is a more reliable bike

so shift with authority and show no fear.

disclaimer: above assumes you have decent oil, changed in timely manner as well as other factors that can contribute to excessive clunkiness ... but for the most part, as stated, some 'clunk" is normal on cbr's

Edit: assuming you mean "clunk" / "thud" sound when you say "clicking" because that could be a different story ... e.g. sprockets etc..

Old 03-13-2007, 08:10 AM

both my 89 and 96 cbrs gave a healthy clunk when I shifted into first from neutral (at a stop) --I only assumed it's normal...

Old 03-13-2007, 10:24 AM
Banned

Learn to blip the throttle while downshifting.

Old 03-13-2007, 12:23 PM

Kid...according to the instructions that came with my new clutch you should never drop the bike from N to any gear if its revving over 1500rpm.

Old 03-13-2007, 02:18 PM

Also dont go into first until youve come to a complete stop. Otherwise just stay in second.

Old 03-14-2007, 12:21 AM

i also get a good "clunk" when i hit netural from shifting 1st to 2nd , and i go to shift into second. i found let the bike rev down and use a strong pull to get it into second

Old 03-14-2007, 12:57 AM
Banned

ORIGINAL: DDCavi