CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

New Slip-On, Should I Re-Jet??

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2009, 08:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Slip-On, Should I Re-Jet??

I just put on a two-bros slip on pipe on my '96 f3. Should I re-jet? If so which ones do you recommend? Is it something I can do myself or should I take it to a shop? I'm somewhat good with tools and I just started riding. Any help is appreciated. Also since I put the slip on, its been popping alot.

Old 12-10-2009, 08:45 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

May not need to rejet, just tweak. Figure out if your bike is now running lean or rich and adjust the clip position on the needles accordingly. A jet kit won't magically set your bike to optimum. It'll need to be tweaked as well to reach optimum running performance.

Honestly, I'd recommend finding a guide on tuning your carbs as they currently are and give it a go. It may save you the cost of the jet kit. And if it doesn't, it'll give you some practice for when you do rejet it. Course if you feel like dropping a couple $100 on a mechanic...

Old 12-10-2009, 10:47 PM
Super Moderator
Received 498 Likes on 450 Posts

Adding a slip-on doesn't affect the exhaust flow, so re-jetting is not necessary. Your carbs may need to be cleaned though if they haven't been done in a long time or if ever. OEM needles aren't adjustable, other than adding or removing a shim washer under it. There are no clip positions to change to. It costs about $40 to $50 to put your bike on a Dyno. If you have a shop around your area that has one that can check your A/F mixture to tell you for sure if your rich or lean while idling will help you with adjusting the A/F screws.

Old 12-10-2009, 11:07 PM

Originally Posted by IDoDirt