CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

New to the site, Just bought an F3

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2006, 04:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the site, Just bought an F3

Hello everyone. Last week I purchased my first sportbike, a '95 F3. I'm not completely new to motorcycles, but I'm fairly new to riding on the street. I've been riding dirt bikes all my life, and I've got a Yamaha 750 Virago that I've been riding for about 6 months.

Anyway, I bought a '95 F3 for 800 bucks. It's got 25,000 miles and runs great. It was laid down and the right side farings are cracked in a few places, but overall the bike looks pretty good. It's got a D&D exhaust, and I think it has a 520 kit because the chain says 520 pro and the front sprocket is 14 tooth instead of 15. Back is the stock size of 43.

I've been having a lot of fun on the bike. It suprised me how quick it was. My back tire is pretty much shot though. The previous owner must have not took any corners and just acclerated hard in a straight line, because the middle of the tire is slick but the corners still have a lot of tread. I ordered a Pilot Power rear tire for it. It also had a 140 tire on the back, so I ordered the stock size of 160.

I do have a couple of questions. Yesterday when I was riding it I was coming out of a turn in third gear with the bike leaned a little bit, but not much. The steering started shaking pretty bad until I straightened up the bike and let off the throttle. It kinda acted like it does when you're accelerating hard in 1st or 2nd and the front tire is just barely off the ground. Could this have been due to the tires being shaped different. The front tire has a lot of curve, while the back one is a lot more flat across the tread.