CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

HELP!! im no mechanic!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 12:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP!! im no mechanic!!

i just bought a 96 f3 in dec. first ride today. died a mile from home.

1. monday i recharged the battery.
2. all week i have started it and let it warm up (with choke on) and idle for a couple minutes with choke off.
3. i have read all winter that the regulator is the achilles heel for these.
4. so i checked mine and it looks brand new. black with slits going across it, but i looks like the stock plug is plugging into it.... is that right? i thought if that went bad then the battery would be dead also?? it wasn't...

story...
i was riding down the road, my rpm drops to 0. i freak and give it gas, it jumps back to life at 4k. then dies and comes back a couple of times. then T.K.O. off the road i give it a minute, it turns over like crazy, no putt, no fire. after a couple minutes of trying to start the battery started to get weaker and weaker, so i pushed it home...... i have never worked on anything but i can follow directions pretty average

please help!!!!

Old 03-16-2012, 01:40 PM

Right before work, I went to charge the battery, I put the charger in engine start mode, and it fired right up? Now I will let it charge at 2 ohms for the night... thanks..again

Old 03-16-2012, 01:49 PM
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Pull the connector to the r/r and look it over for heat-damage. If the PO was lazy,
they might have replaced the r/r and left a marginal connector alone.

When you say "slits' are you refering to a metal block with fins, mounted to the r/r?

Also, pull the main 30 amp fuse, discard and replace it. Occasionally the fuse will
"almost' fail. Then, heat and/or vibration will create an intermittent break in the
connection. It is located under the seat, on the end of the big, positive cable attached