CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Drive CHAIN help

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2007, 11:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drive CHAIN help

So before I started riding this season, I cleaned my chain with WD-40 with 'synthetic chain-guard' something i picked up from a dealership pretty often. Anyway, ive been wanting to tighten my chain but:

1. When I press down on the chain to measure the tension it's within normal ranges.
2. When I press up on the chain there are inches of slack.

I've ridden decently hard at least 4 times in the past month, but it's always been like that. Still rides the same which is great, or what I think is great. I only bought the bike a couple months back so I haven't tightened the chain before

It's got a 520 sprocket/chain conversion. Also, when Itake the chain gaurd offthe chain looks straight as can be...What gives?! Thanks!

Old 04-18-2007, 01:58 PM
Default RE: Drive CHAIN help

I was under the impression you measure chain slack by pulling down on it and pushing it up. The distance from down to up is the slack. If its just sitting there its going to hang down so you would have more up than down.

Old 04-18-2007, 04:43 PM

+1 with what CajunCBR said.

The manual says that you measure slack from the pushing up on the chain to pushing down on the chain. It sounds like you should tighten your chian up.

Old 04-18-2007, 04:57 PM

that makes sense, thanks! So, in the Clymer manual and owners manual where it says to measure the distance between when you push down and when you pull up, even though (i think the owners' manual's) illustration shows an equal distance between pulling up and pushing down, it may be that only 25% of your measurement is pushing down while 75% is pulling up?

How does that fare when you tighten it--would it be ok for there to be just about no slack pushing down but an inch pulling up?

Sorry for the (dumb?) questions, never needed to tighten a chain before until now. Thanks again