CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

96 F3 sat for 3 years and won't start. . . .ideas?

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 09:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 F3 sat for 3 years and won't start. . . .ideas?

Hey all, new to this forum, but a fan of forums for help in general. I've been working on cars (professionally) for about 15 years now, but this is the first bike I've had, so bear that in mind. . .

The bike is a '96 CBR600 F3 with just under 10k miles on it. The only mod is a Yoshimura exhaust kit (with manifold). I took it from a long-time friend that I know would not purposely screw me over, or lie to me about something that's happened to it (he's still willing to take it back if I can't make it work). He absolutely babied the thing, and it's in pristine condition. Changed the oil once a year, no matter how little he used it, always used premium gas and Honda performance synthetic 4-stroke oil. He never raced it or pushed it to its limits by any means, just carted around town.

About 3 years ago he put some stabil in it, and stored it in the back of his garage. He didn't know he was never going to take it out again, he just got married and stuff, and never got back to riding. I offered to take it off his hands, and he said to come get it with a trailer, because he doesn't even want to think about trying to start it after 3 years.

***THE PROBLEM, AND ATTEMPTED SOLUTIONS:***

So, I got it home, and the tires were flat and battery dead, which is to be expected. I put in a new battery, syphoned the old gas out, put in some premium and swished, and then syphoned THAT out. Then filled up with premium, and tried to start it. It cranked, but would not start up. Made sure the fuel line and choke were open, but no luck. Didn't even sputter, or anything.