CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

Setting up an F2 for the track - somebody has done it?

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2008, 01:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Setting up an F2 for the track - somebody has done it?

Hey guys, I wanted to get some feedback from the group. I am new to riding at track days this year. I have done three so far and am now officially hooked. I was wondering if anyone has set up their '94 F2 for track time? I am mostly looking for suspension mods and settings.

Right now the bike is stock with Pirelli Diablo tires and an aftermarket can. I have a jet kit in it too, but that's it. I have set my Sag and adjusted my rebound rates. The bike rides well on track and on the road but the suspension is just so much softer than today's bikes. Any body have any pointers? Thanks

Jason

Old 09-11-2008, 02:48 PM
Default RE: Setting up an F2 for the track - somebody has done it?

get the appropriate springs from racetech for your weight. Also swap out the fork fluid to a 15W. If you got the money, you can change the valving too. If been seeing a couple aftermarket shocks for the F2 around lately. They seem to sell for about $300. Fox or Penske will do just fine. Or you can go the cheap route and pick up an F4i shock and just swap that in. It'll raise the rear over an inch but it might be better. If you dont like it, you will need to find a lowering link to bring the bikes geometry back. Ive also read that investing in some SS brake lines, nice pads, and fresh brake fluid will help alot as well. Also, you may want to swap to an F3 rear wheel since it will allow you to run a 180 tire. I hope you are already running a 120/70 tire up front and raise the forks to compensate. Ive just had my F2 for about a week but learned a lot through these forums. Dont think of me as a noob though. I have an R6 thats pretty well sorted out for the track.

Old 09-11-2008, 03:15 PM