CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

New to ME 94 CBR F2(Chicago)

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2014, 11:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to ME 94 CBR F2(Chicago)

Im new to the CBR F2 sorta but not new to the forum. So I found a badly beaten up 94 F2 and decided to get it. It was cheap and I wanted to get back on 2 wheels. Gonna take some work to get her back road ready and worthy but im up for the challenge.

The plan is to

Swap fairings for F4i front end plus gauges
03-04 cbr600rr tail section
F4i rear shock
97 GSXR USD forks with 4 or 6 pistons
stainless steel lines
new slipon exhaust.

Should be fun to ride...

Gotta question or 2.
How bad does the F4i shock effect handling..Im going in a straight line, no major twisties or anything. im getting mixed reviews on the shock swap.

Thanks

Old 05-14-2014, 01:24 PM
Welcome Crew and ROTY 2014
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Well, the F4i shock will have better damping characteristics than the OEM F2 shock, but it will lift the rear about 1 1/2 inches, if I remember correctly, so that will definitely affect your geometry quite a bit... are you thinking of using a lowering link, to offset the ride height change?

As far as the fairing/gauges swap, as you might already know, it's been done many times (some with more success than others! ) There are quite a few threads here regarding it the swap.

I've done a lot to the F2s that I have, so check out my build threads, if you think you might get some ideas.

Jeff

Old 05-15-2014, 10:30 AM

Yeah i was going to add the lowering link after a few threads i read to get it back down to the appropiate ride height..so not to effect geometry to drastically.

Yeah your thread is one of my motivational tools to get'r done. LOL

Had a few questions on the fork swaps.

I read the GSXR forks are a direct bolt on, so I assume the Gsxr steering stem is the same length as the F2s, and all i have to do is switch the bearings? Am i correct with that assumption.