CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

Motorcycle Insurance? Need advice!

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2012, 04:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Motorcycle Insurance? Need advice!

Well I hope I never have to use this but it's still required by law so if I want to ride in the USA legally I need insurance.
I've never done this before but from what I hear it depends on my age (21), my state (San Diego, CA), my record (clean). I've only just had my license for about 3 or 4 months so I know they'll all try to stick it to me when it comes to the price but I've just never gotten insurance for cars or motorcycles so I thought I'd ask! Which one is a good one to start off with??

Old 11-09-2012, 04:45 PM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Call a broker. They will have lots of options for you, as the deal with many companies.

If you want to give the guy I use a call, I will PM you his number.

Old 11-10-2012, 01:12 AM

I'm guessing that you have an F2 since you posted here. I reside in CA as well and I picked Safeco because they were simply the cheapest provider. $249 a year, liability only for a 92' F2. So far I've been pretty satisfied with their customer service. Can't find anywhere that can beat the price. 18 years old, just got my M1 and I'm only paying $249. But if you care about your bike, you might want to get something more than liability only.

Old 11-10-2012, 06:43 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I always recommend "Comprehensive Insurance"(theft and vandalism). It really doesn't take all that long for your bike to disappear in a parking spot or someone to break something on it. It is a little more, but well worth it.
Too many stories of bikes being stolen with the owner less than 150 ft. away and quite a few of not having the right insurance to replace it.

Old 11-10-2012, 11:46 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Old 11-10-2012, 12:15 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts