CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

CBR600F2 rim/sprocket question

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2012, 08:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CBR600F2 rim/sprocket question

Hello all!

I'm a newb and need some help with deciding what sprocket combo is the best for my 92 F2.

I bought this bike a few weeks ago, and it came with aftermarket rims, I believe they are 18 inch by 6 inches and im running 180/55/17 on the back. 120/65/17 on the front. I'm not sure if I measured the height of the back rim correctly as it was still on the bike, so it could be a 17 inch by 6 inch rim.

I'm quite confused about what size sprockets to get. I believe the rear sprocket has 45 teeth, and I think I would like some more top speed without losing too much acceleration if any. If I have left any info out that you would need to help me with this, please tell me! And go easy on me haha, its my first sports bike :-)

Old 11-02-2012, 09:28 AM

Stock wheels are 17 inches for this bike. Looks like you're running a 17 inch tire and wheel because you're running a 180/55/17. The 180 is the width, the 55 is the height, and the 17 is the tire diameter.

Here is a good site that can explain it, and what all the leters mean that are thrown in with the numbers on the tire : https://www.denniskirk.com/help_center/tire-sizes.jsp

Then, if you want to keep it as is that's fine but a lot of people go for a little extra acceleration and forfeit a bit of top end. They do this by changing up the gearing a little bit, taking off or adding teeth to the sprockets to increase acceleration.

Check out gearingcommander.com and play around with it a little bit, it'll tell you how fast the bike goes on stock gearing, and aftermarket.

Also, if you weren't the first owner look at your sprockets and see how many teeth they are, they might be different and then you can find out what you like from there.

Good luck.

Old 11-02-2012, 10:50 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts