CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Throttle Issue at Low RPMs

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2009 | 01:03 PM
|
Default Throttle Issue at Low RPMs

I'm rebuilding two Hurricanes ('89 & '90) and I'm experiencing the same issue with both of them. They both idle fine and once the get above 4k or 5k the throttle is fine and acts as it should. The problem is that, even after warmed up, the revs drop and the bike almost stalls when, from idle, I open the throttle med to quick. If I slowly open the throttle then the revs increase as they're supposed to. Anything faster than a slow roll on and I can hear the air sucking into the carbs (with tank & airbox off) and the bike almost dies before recovering and eventually catching up with the throttle position. I'm new to working on carbs, but I'm trying very much to learn all that I can about them and working on the bikes in general so any advice is helpful and a detailed walk through is the best I could ask for. Also, my assumption is that the carbs on the '90 are at stock settings and the others have been fiddled with but still seem to work just fine aside from this issue. Also, I'm in Denver, so I'm wondering if altitude has anything to do with this? Any ideas? Thanks all!

Old 09-30-2009 | 07:06 PM

Have you tried this with the airbox on? It will make a difference with the increased airflow as it will lean out the mixture with the airbox off. Have you cleaned the carbs? Are there air leaks at the boots between the carbs and engine?

Old 10-01-2009 | 10:51 AM
|