CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Brakes Locked On Rotor

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2009, 04:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brakes Locked On Rotor

Need a little help. I've never worked on auto or moto brakes before. After spreading the pads and remounting my front calipers to the bike, I began to add dot 4 to the reservoir and followed my manual to bleed the line.

I ran out of brake fluid before I got all the tiny air bubbles out of the lines, so I just cranked down the bleed nipples to finish later.

Then I noticed the brakes were engaged on the rotors. Is this because I still have tiny air bubbles in the line, or do I have to remove the the calipers and spread the pads again. Thanks for any help, I can't find the help in my manual.

Old 11-24-2009, 11:04 PM

Disc brakes should lightly touch the rotor surface. You should be able to spin the wheel easily.

KongBastard

Old 11-27-2009, 06:34 AM

when your front tire rotates the small in-perfections(slight warp) in your front rotors well spead it apart so it well have a little clearance this is normal.

Old 11-29-2009, 03:05 PM

I have no clearance between the rotor and pads. The left front caliper is clamped onto the rotor. It's the second caliper I've tried and it's still dragging hard. The lines are free of air bubbles, the pads are not worn beyond their limit, I'm still searching for answers. I'll have my new fuel tank tommorow, so if it wasn't for the brake issue I'd be ready to ride. This sucks!

Old 11-30-2009, 02:22 AM

If they are used pads, you should have no issues with the pads being too tight. Double check that you have everything assembled correctly. Check that the calipers are clean, that the mounting bolts are lubed where they are supposed to be, etc.