CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

87 cane carb help

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2012 | 11:56 AM
|
Default 87 cane carb help

So yesterday I finally got in a replacement jet for cyl 4 pilot jet. Cleaned out all of the carbs (was pretty nasty in there) put it all back together and the bike finally came back to life...only to show another problem. I can't get the idle back up to the 1200rpm recommendation. Along with that the idle (which is around 600-700rpm) is very rough, and when I go to twist the throttle the bike dies.

Now I'm thinking I may have to check the float bowl levels, but I'm kind of lost after that. I'm a mechanic and I know a lot about fuel injection, but not too familiar with the finer points of carbs. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 07-01-2012 | 04:27 PM
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2

Do a search in the how-to's on carb sync and idle adjust.

When you replace the jets, you need to turn them out a specific
number of turns, that gets you ball-park. Check the manual,
or maybe someone else can pop in with that info.

To get it rightous though, you need to do a final tune with a set of vacume guages
and a RPM guage capable of 50+/- accuracy.

You may have noticed the idle adjust ****, it's mounted on a spring-coil.
You can try that to advance it a bit, so you can warm-up the bike to do your
above-mentioned, final adjustment.

Hope this helps, Ern

Old 07-01-2012 | 06:30 PM
|

Thanks, I'll take a look at it tomorrow when I go into work.

I assumed the jets were just screwed down to finger tight, didn't know about the backing off, until after reading your post I double checked my clymer's manual and saw the 2.5 turns out. I'll start with that.

I was trying to play with the idle adjust screw but to no avail. I don't have the vacuum gauges to sync the carbs, besides buying one any idea if there are places that would loan them out? Kind of like autozone does with car tools.