CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

600F project bike progress/issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2010, 04:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 600F project bike progress/issues

Hi guys. I recently purchased an 89 cbr600. I'm very new to the bike scene. This is the first bike I've owned. However, I do occasionally track and build my car and help friends with theirs. I'll try my best to post progress and ask questions for help.

Here's a pic of the bike the day I got her. The seat and most of the plastics came with her, but are off. The only missing pieces are the side fenders. I'm planning to convert it to a street fighter anyways, with some research on this site and other bike forums.

My main concern was the condition of the frame and swing arms, and those were in really good condition. Also the status is good with no claims or rebuild.

Unfortunately, it hasn't started for over a year and the previous owner has no idea why. He told me he purchased a new cdi box and it still wouldn't work.

There's some electrical issues from the previous owner as you can see. Surprisingly all the signals and lamps on the cluster work. The brake switches and lamps work as well.

After seeing this, picture above, we cleaned up the wires with some solder and heat shrink. We took out the entire harness and checked for shorts. Replaced all the fuses to proper sized fuses. After careful inspection we found that the clutch switch diode was fried.

The bike would still not crank. The tank and gas lines are disconnected. We thought maybe it was the starter, so we took the starter off the engine and connected it directly to the battery and ground. It spun no problem.

I got a little side tracked while browsing the forum at this point and saw a really good DIY on cleaning the carb. So I did that...