CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

1989 600F is burning me!

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2009, 04:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 1989 600F is burning me!

OK, so I just bought this '89 Hurricane a month ago, and have already resolved a few issues (replaced a crap battery, frayed clutch cable, new rear tire).

One seemingly major problem still remains, however. The bike gets SO freaking hot that it will actually start to burn my legs and thighs through my jeans on longer (20min+) rides. I keep a close eye on the temp gauge, but it never goes higher than a smidge over halfway (and only that high when I'm stopped in traffic or at a long light)...

I'll admit that I am a heinous noob when it comes to sport bikes (previously owned 1960-70's CB160's), but this just doesn't seem normal to me. In all other aspects, the bike runs well for my needs (still intermittently a b*tch to get into neutral, but what old bike doesn't have quirks?). Why is my bike putting off so much heat???

Possibly related factors (I'm clueless, so I'm including everything I can think of here):
~ rear fairings?/cowls? are still off from when I replaced the battery (maybe they normally redirect the heat???)
~ checked coolant level, and it was maybe a half inch low
~ I never rev her higher than 6500 (regularly change gears between 3-5k depending on traffic conditions)
~ 95% of my riding is stop&go city with a few scattered higway trips (engine gauge reads cooler on freeway, but the frame still gets just as hot)
~ the "oil" light is usually on before I start it (maybe other times, too, but I just thought it was weird for it to be on at all...)

The heat of August is killing me, and this bike is my only mode of transportation, so any help on this matter would be a godsend!!!! Have any veteran Hurricane owners heard of this, or is my bike just too hot for me?

Thanks in advance!!
-Amanda (AKA Ivy)

Old 08-30-2009, 10:32 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post