First bike?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2006, 11:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First bike?

Hello all

The CBR1000R might be my first street bike. I'm 17 and very experienced on dirtbikes, I’ve been racing for 8 years on 250's and 450's so I know what I’m doing. I'm planning on buying a used 2005 at the end of the summer after I sell my KTM and come up with the remaining money from my job. I’ve raced Honda's since I was 9 so I’m partial to the brand and their craftsmanship. What I am asking is how would the CBR1000R compare to other 1 liter bikes such as the Suzuki, Kawasaki, and Yamaha? From what I read the Kawasaki and Suzuki has been winning most of the shootouts. How would these other bikes compare to the Honda? How happy are you guys with your CBR, would you buy another CBR again if you had the opportunity? What is the power like on this machine? I'm a power junkie and won't have the opportunity nor the money to purchase another bike until I’m out of college so the 600 isn't relevant in my situation. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-14-2006, 11:18 PM
Default RE: First bike?

Well asking if we like our Blades is going to be a very biased response.. I love my blade and would buy another as its a pleaseure to ride..Most of the 1 litre hyperbikes have enough power to rip your arms off mate! What you are getting with the CBR is a excellent overall package. The power the handling and the overall finish is great, you would not be dissapointed in purchasing the CBR..My suggestion is to go out and ride as many bikes as you can and see which one you feel at home on?.. Good luck.

Old 05-14-2006, 11:43 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Coming from a GSX-750R the move from it to the CBR1000RR was night and day. I love my 1000RR and will more than likely get another one if I were to choose all over again (except maybe the ZX-14).

Here is a decent review of all the litre bikes... http://www.biketestusa.com/Article_P...ArticleID=3149