CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Running Hot

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2012, 06:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running Hot

Hi all,

I am new to the world of the 'cane and have just put an 87 back together that I bought 18m ago from a friend.

Having taken it for a test ride last night, I found that the bike is running hot - very close to the 'engine about to explode red line'.

After lots of searching the forums here (what a great resource - without the usual forum bs!) I have found the following out.

I put car oil in - cardinal sin. Will fix today. Tho that shouldn't result in overheating.

Thermo fan in manual only and was running as soon as I noticed the temps.

New coolant already done with a flush.

I my mind this leaves one of three possibilities, blocked radiator, bad thermostat or buggered pump. As the is no water oil present in the exhaust.

Looking for a little help to find and check these items as I wasn't able to find anything on the forums.

Cheers
Mike

Old 05-15-2012, 06:52 PM
Administrator - Retired
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

After you turned on the manual fan, did the temps come back down?
My fan runs normally (all the time while sitting), but the bike gets about 3/4 of the way up the gauge on a normal day if I'm sitting at ALL.

As for car oil.... which oil did you use? You may be absolutely fine with what you put in it.

Old 05-15-2012, 07:22 PM

as per experience few thing too check;

in this order.

check if your bike is spewing up coolant, the tube in the overflow if original, is too long, and it spewing coolant as soon as the bike is spewing it in the reserve. if it goes to the bottom cut in halfway to stop the coolant to be send in overflow mode.

check your radiator cap under the tank, if it is too hold it might not keep the right pressure, causing the coolant to boil t a lower temperature and loosing the ability to coll the motor correctly.