CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Opportunity to purchase a 1987 1000cc Hurricane.

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2014, 04:14 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Opportunity to purchase a 1987 1000cc Hurricane.

Well, for starters, this is my first time on this forum and first time joining a motorcycle forum. I'm happy to say it won't be my first time on a motorcycle. A little background before I ask my question.

I've rode a motorcycle for about 1.5 years, and I say rode because haven't had one for 6+ months. Since I started riding, I've had a:

1983 V45 Sabre 750cc: Roughly 1.5 months. Was stupid enough to trade it for...
1996 Suzuki Intruder 1400cc: Roughly a month. Which I was glad I traded it for...
1983 Goldwing Aspencade 1100cc: I started riding a Goldwing with less than three collective hours on the previous motorcycles. I held onto the Goldwing for about a year before it complete crapped out on me and I made another mistake and traded it for...
1996 Honda CBR600: Sold it in a week. I'm 210 lbs and 6'3". I didn't feel comfortable on this light bike. I could ride the Goldwing and take tight turns all day, but I did not feel comfortable throwing myself into a tight turn on the CBR... could be because 15 minutes into riding, vice grips fell out of it. Sold that. Went without a bike for a month or two.
1994 Goldwing, rode it three hours and then had to sell it because of financial difficulties.

Which leads me to today. The weather in Iowa/Illinois the other day was fantastic and I got the itch to get a motorcycle again (I've had it all winter, it just became unbearable this past week.) My friend has a Red/Black 1987 CBR 1000F Hurricane he wants to sell and he offered it to me for $1,500. I have little experience in sports bikes, let alone pricing of it.