CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Not sure what to do with it.

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2008, 08:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not sure what to do with it.

Ladies and gentlemen of the CBR forum. I have not posted much here since I am new to this model but I have read a lot and was able or resurrect my 87 hurricanes from the near dead. However I am now faced with a dilemma, I have two of them one running and looking quite well and one that it is basically parts. The problem is it is time to move on and find another bike to ride. That being said I should have listed it in the for sale / parts bike section but it looked like all newer stuff to me and I know that the old bikes parts are hard to find. So this is what I have 1987 hurricane 1000. The engine seems complete minus the starter, I have turned the crank by hand but it only moved about an inch in a half maybe two at most. I did take the valve cover off and it looks clean but I am not sure what the problem is with the motor. Most of the plastics are pretty beat up. However the tail and cowling look to be ok, a few cracks but nothing unrepair able. The seat is in great condition but I think it was recovered at one time. Tires, rims, brake all look street able. The gas tank looks good a small ding the size of a pea but the inside needs to be acid washed and possible coated. I think there was a small leak in the front right side on the bottom buy the seam. Did I mention that it has a 4-1 Vance and Hines exhaust, I had it on my bike but I went back to stock, I did repack it though. And best of all I do have a clear Florida title for the bike. I would really prefer not to part it out since space is something that I just don’t have. So I am willing to sell the whole thing for just $500.00. I know that the exhaust alone will fetch close to $200 I just don’t want to deal with taking things apart and boxing and shipping. I live in Sarasota Florida. 34231

Old 11-25-2008, 12:41 AM