CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

nice bike is the hurricane...is this a good deal... newbie here

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2006, 09:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default nice bike is the hurricane...is this a good deal... newbie here

Hello everyone I am new here. I am a 21 year old kid that is looking for a first motorcycle and I was looking in the ads for a 250-750cc bike but I went to see a honda hurricane cbr1000f of 1988. Man I rode it for a little while and it is fast! I really like the heavyness of the bike as It feels stable at low speeds. I also like the gear changes they are crisp. The seller put a 1500 on it but I lowered it to 900. It is missing right fairing because of an accident a previous owner had on it and wanted to get rid of it because he didnt even want to see it. Now the current seller wants to get rid of it. He says the engine fan has a switch on it to turn it on. Is that stock?or did he adapt that? He says the engine fan should only be turned on during stop and go traffic and during freeway it can stay off. He says it needs to be fixed though I think.

As I am new to motorcycling I want to know if this a good decision in my life as a novice in motorcyling and new to purchasing motorcyles?

Here is the pic of the bike of course on the good side.

Old 10-29-2006, 10:00 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: nice bike is the hurricane...is this a good deal... newbie here

Can't say if it's a good deal without seeing it. Fairing parts are very expensive though and it wouldn't hurt to price these first. Also a compression test is a good idea and have a look at the spark plugs, they should be a nice grey brown colour.