CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Maybe I shouldn't have purchased off ebay...

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2006, 07:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Maybe I shouldn't have purchased off ebay...

Well I have been riding this bike (1994 1000F-R) for about 2000-3000 miles on the belief that, as the seller told me, it had been laid down at low speed by the previous owner. I am begining to think that the guy I bought from was a liar. So the rattle at idle that I have has been getting worse and my dad and I started to take the bike apart according to the hayes manual. We starting taking panels off and some of them were being held on by zip ties and bondo. There is a lot of panel damage and it looks as though EVERY panel has been replaced with junk yard parts. This leads us to think this was not just a simple lay down. At this point I was wondering if I should cut bait and sell this thing for parts... or try and find or repair the damaged peices (there is no way we can put this back together). Has anyone been in this situation? What you yall do?

MDFF

Old 08-20-2006, 07:39 PM
Admin Emeritus & MVN
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Maybe I shouldn't have purchased off ebay...

Either find some aftermarket plastics or chop and sell for parts. If the bike runs well and handles o.k. then I'd go for the aftermarket plastics. The bike is 12 years old so no telling how many owners and how many "lay" downs.

Important thing is that you've learned to inspect a potential bike more closely in the future.

Good luck, dude ...

Old 08-20-2006, 07:47 PM

if ur gonna buy plastics, the only place you'll find them is air tech

Old 08-20-2006, 07:48 PM

wait discard that last comment i thought you had an 88 for some reason, but if you wanna part it out, i will take the wheels and swingarm.

Old 08-20-2006, 08:07 PM

Yeah, deffinetly a leason learned here.