CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Lumpy at low revs

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2009, 12:40 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Lumpy at low revs

Hi guys, I'm after picking your brains, my '90 is running ok but at low revs when creeping along it is slightly lumpy, it feels like it is missing or choking as you slowly accelerate. There is no black smoke, the plugs are fairly new, the carbs have been cleaned out and sync'ed. Am I missing something obvious?
The problem is not serious, just chuffin annoying, if you roll into a slow corner as you pull out of it, for a split second it feels like the bike is going to "fall" into the corner!
Over 2500 rpm its fine and runs like a dream. I have been ironing out teething problems on this bike for a few months (since buying it) and hopefully this is the last of them. The problem has always been there I think but has been masked by the other problems,now they have gone it seems to show up more.

Old 01-29-2009, 01:41 PM
September 2009 ROTM Winner - Faster than a Speeding ..........

Sorry to hear about your probs mate , you said plugs are new , have you checked for a nice strong spark from each one ? If not maybe the leads . Have you checked the air filter/fuel filter for dirt /blockages . I'm no expert but that's where I'd start (if you haven't checked these already)

If the weather was better I'd suggest you take a trip to Brighton and we could try swapping a few parts around as we have virtually the same bike . Maybe the summer if its not sorted by then.

Good Luck!!

Last edited by hawkwind; 01-29-2009 at 01:45 PM. Reason: new info
Old 01-29-2009, 09:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you have a timing light, make sure the ignition is advancing.

Old 01-30-2009, 09:22 AM
Default off idle problem