CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Loose handlebar

  #1  
Old 09-28-2016, 12:12 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Default Loose handlebar

Hey guys, new to the forum. Been riding for awhile and bought a 94 hurricane today. Anyways my left handlebar is loose, not the actual clamp but the grip, blinker/horn/light Assy, and clutch lever... any advice on tightening this up? TIA
 
  #2  
Old 09-28-2016, 06:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 90
Default

If, checking the screws for the horn light, ect. Make sure they are tight.
The actual grip, may need to be removed. They use to have a glue to use. Some just wrapped some electrical tape on the bar.

Then put it back on.

It may be a good chance to replace the grips. Usually can't get them off, without cutting them off. Lol.

But once it starts to slip. TI'm for new ones or try tape or glue. I usually got the glue from a local motorcyle shop.


I'm sure someone will chime in, there's a few options there, if the bolts are tight. And it still moves.

Ryan
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-2016, 06:23 AM
Conrice's Avatar
Retired Super Moderator and Fighterer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,148
Default

Hair spray works amazing for grips. It helps the grip get on, then it acts as glue once it dries.
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-2016, 03:42 PM
TimBucTwo's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bir Tawil
Posts: 4,085
Default

Welcome to the forum.

I think your talking about the pod itself, not the grip.

If so, you tighten the front screw that is on the underside, then the rear screw.
 
  #5  
Old 09-28-2016, 04:36 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah I'm not talking about the actual grip... it's the tube that the grip goes on that's loose
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-2016, 11:42 AM
TimBucTwo's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bir Tawil
Posts: 4,085
Default

The clip-on? That is tightened by the bolt #16.

 
Attached Thumbnails Loose handlebar-clip-.jpg  
  #7  
Old 09-29-2016, 01:28 PM
Jaybird180's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Prince George's County, MD
Posts: 3,471
Default

Originally Posted by Conrice View Post
Hair spray works amazing for grips. It helps the grip get on, then it acts as glue once it dries.
If your avatar is any indication, then you've got a lifetime of grips that need installing - LoL

j/k
 
  #8  
Old 09-30-2016, 02:14 AM
jarvid's Avatar
Welcome Crew
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posts: 962
Default

Don`t use anything under the grips like glue or hairspray. You have to make sure the bar the grip goes on is spotlessly clean, then use a bit of soapy water to assist slipping the grip on. Once dry the grip will not move unless you want it to(compressed air is good)
 
  #9  
Old 09-30-2016, 04:26 PM
Jaybird180's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Prince George's County, MD
Posts: 3,471
Default

Originally Posted by jarvid View Post
Don`t use anything under the grips like glue or hairspray. You have to make sure the bar the grip goes on is spotlessly clean, then use a bit of soapy water to assist slipping the grip on. Once dry the grip will not move unless you want it to(compressed air is good)
Do you take off your old grips using air?

Why didn't I think of that?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lang1864
Sights 'N Sounds
14
11-14-2006 01:58 AM
frostin
600 Modifications
1
07-26-2006 09:42 PM
Muz
General Tech
9
03-22-2006 07:02 PM
NeonspeedRT
General Tech
9
05-11-2005 12:23 PM
usndocjaysin
CBR 600RR
1
02-21-2005 09:04 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Loose handlebar


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.