CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Importance of service?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2008, 12:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Importance of service?

I change my filter and oil every 6000k, coolant every 12,000k and check tyres, breaks, air filter on a regular basis, but the more mechanical servicing like carb balancing and valve clearances, are they important? My bike has 17,000k on the clock but has not had a proper 'Honda' service since the 6000k mark, 5 years ago...
It starts and runs fine, engine sounds smooth, no rattles, smoke, knocking or other signals that its out of tune, just wondering if it should be done? I don't want to do it myself as I have little mechanical knowledge other than the basic stuff.

Old 02-11-2008, 12:52 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Importance of service?

ORIGINAL: Coopz

I change my filter and oil every 6000k, coolant every 12,000k and check tyres, breaks, air filter on a regular basis, but the more mechanical servicing like carb balancing and valve clearances, are they important? My bike has 17,000k on the clock but has not had a proper 'Honda' service since the 6000k mark, 5 years ago...
It starts and runs fine, engine sounds smooth, no rattles, smoke, knocking or other signals that its out of tune, just wondering if it should be done? I don't want to do it myself as I have little mechanical knowledge other than the basic stuff.
I think you need to ride more lol. I change my oil n filter every 3k. 6k is pushin it IMO. Far as the honda service thing goes. They mostly check things out n only actually do whats needs to be fixed. If it isnt running badly, ticking etc, it all sounds fine. 17k aint shyt for mileage. I have 42k on my 00 F4 and she still runs like a top.

Old 02-11-2008, 01:25 AM
Redcoat, & Maxwell's Silver Hammer, MVN and curmudgeon
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts