CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Don't you hate it when....

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2011, 03:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Don't you hate it when....

Organised with a couple of mates to go for a ride yesterday through the Grampian mountains. Magic weather, feeling good, got together and off we went.
Made it about 10 minutes before my 96 Hurricane lost all power and glided silently to the side of the road.
One of the blokes I was with said he had noticed my headlight dimming just before it died. Dash lights etc all very dull and nothing from the starter button.
Being that I am by no means a mechanical genius, had some mates from the local dealership bring out the van and pick the old girl up.
Haven't heard anything definate as yet but their guesses were either a knackered regulator/rectifier or alternator. The battery in it is almost new.
Just having a quick skim through the forum, seems the R/R failing isn't too uncommon on Hondas????????
Any experience, ideas, thoughts????

Old 11-08-2011, 04:56 AM
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

It's very common, the original part wasn't engineered properly to take the heat.
Check the R/R and connector for heat sign, burnt pins, warped/melted plastic, cracked epoxy coat on the r/r itself. If you see any of that sort of thing, replacement is called for.

What's probably happening is the r/r isn't sending current to charge the battery. So the battery is carrying the bike by itself, when the battery runs down, the bike dies.

Here's a link to diagnostics on the issue....

Charging System Diagnostics - Rectifier/Regulator Upgrade - Triumph Forum: Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums

If it does prove to be a faulty r/r, you can replace with either the upgraded oem part (it will have fins on the heat sink, instead of epoxy cover), go with a used gsxr 750/900 replacement or (my personal choice) the electrosport aftermarket replacement.

www.electrosport.com

Good luck, Ern