CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Carbie Frustration

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2008, 01:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carbie Frustration

Well folks, after having got my 90 back on the road 2 months back, I have been enjoying her immensely. However, I had a new one back in 90 when I first got out of the Navy. I traded my 87 600 Hurricane for the 90. I distinctly remember my old 90 1000F getting better than the 34mpg that I have been getting for the past month.

Pete probably remembers my scrambling to find a reg/rectifier to get her running and my Rube Goldberg flasher module fix.

So, I dusted off my old box of jets from when I was a Honda mechanic back in college (early 90's). I found several sets of jets that fit. The jets I pulled out of her were 122s and the plugs indicated that she was running a bit rich. I installed a complete set of 120s and a new set of needles. I put the carbs back on her and took her out for a ride. My midrange is better and response is better, but the idle is way too high.

So, I went back to the garagepulled theseat and tank off and pulled out my stix to synchronize them. For some reason, I am not getting any reading on #1. But it is clearly drawing fuel since it dies when I pull the #1 plug wire. And I still cannot get the idle to drop below 3k.

So, I did the next logical thing: I pulled the carbs back off and put the 122s back in. It still won't idle below 3k.

At this point I am ready to run over the damn thing with my truck. I know that I adjusted some of the synchronization screws when the 120s were still in, but I am unsure how to get it back the way it was without the styx working correctly. While I had the carbs off last time, I blew compressed air back through the test vacuum port that you hook the styx up to so that I was sure there were not any obstructions.

Anyone have any idea why I might not be getting a reading on #1 with the vacuum gauge?