CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Carb WTF?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2012, 05:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carb WTF?

Well, I would like to introduce myself.. I'm Aman ,20, from Alabama. I'm not a mechanic BUT I am very hands on. so Im agile with hardware and stuff and understand things for the most parts. Hello to the Forum members You are all Amazing help. Now to my problem, I opened my carb as they were puking gas out the overflow valve out of 3/4 carb so i opened Carb 4 it was fine.. then opened 3... oh the spring came out! and guess what! there was another small spring stuck between the big spring!! I was liek WHAT THE F***.now I tried puting the carb back and I was successful with putting the 4 back togehter and latching the top metal plate that attaches all 4 to stay together but the bottom metal plate wont go on.. it fits carb 1 , 3 and 4 .. and there is a space between 2.. I tried putting the carb on the engine.. and if 1/2 goes then 3/4 wont go and if 3/4 go then 1/2 wont and if all do then it comes out the bottom. or wont go inside the engine enough. + i dont know how to measure float but to my knowledge all look the same distance. so i guess its that Spring.. I checked all the jets.. they are clean.. look new to be honest.. 1 more thing I noticed is that Carb 1 and 3 for some reason have black spots of liek grime on the exit passage of the carb and the intake passage of the engine.. while the other 2 are clean WTF? same on the engine.. the intake passage for 2/4 looks clean and shinny but 1/3 look like grime on em? help me please.. Also My headlights arn't working. I changed bulb won't help.. Changed fuse and fuse box won't help.. and for melted wire. I cant tell .. so whats my next step.. I did read a few peoples post but didn't make much of it.. (My turn lights, tail,brake lights all work BUT the headlight..

Old 06-12-2012, 06:04 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

Welcome to this place of displaced members.lol