CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

91 CBR1000F- electrical system died

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2011, 01:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91 CBR1000F- electrical system died

MY CBR1000F only has 9200 miles on it, took it out for a short ride today for about 15 miles. When I pulled in at my house it died. Engine died, lost all the lights on the dash, it just died and I have been unable to get the bike to do
anything..

Battery has been on a battery tender and was fully charged prior to the ride and is relatively new, replaced a few months ago, checked the fuse box, no burnt fuses, checked the 30amp fuse by the battery and it is good.

Thoughts? suggestions? I am not a mechanic and don't have any electrical tools to analyze so suggestions need to be simple!!! other than take it to a bike shop!

A separate issue, when it was running...as of a month ago it was running and idling fine...it sat for a month and now it stalls out at idle and only idles with the choke partially on...could that be trash in the jets? It sticks of gas when I am done riding too...is it flooding itself? I use startron additive for the ethanol and put in fresh gas.

Old 05-30-2011, 08:43 PM
Welcome Crew
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The first thing I would do is spend $10-$20 and get yourself a multi-meter, otherwise you will just be working blind.

Old 05-30-2011, 10:35 PM
Administrator, MVN / ROTM NOV 2012
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Not charging by the sounds of it ....... maybe the R/R is toast ...... a meter as jarvid
indicated is handy to have to check for sure

Old 05-31-2011, 01:33 AM