Aftermarket Discuss aftermarket upgrades to your CBR here.

Aftermarket Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2005, 11:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aftermarket Exhaust

I just purchased a 2004 CBR 600 RR and have a one year warranty on it. Until recently I've been a Sport compact car fan. I own a '95 Talon AWD TSi that's been modded... including turbo upgrade, cat-back exhaust system, sport suspension lowered on 18" rims, intake. However, I have very little experience with modding/upgrading bikes. First off, will replacing the stock muffler affect my manufacturer's warranty ? Secondly, what are some good mufflers and what makes them good. I'm looking for something to open it up a little, and I prefer a real nice sound, doesn't have to be deafening either. Also, is there a difference with which mufflers I can get, what with my exhaust being routed underneath the seat, are there special mufflers for these models ? Thanks in advance to any/all who respond.

Old 01-04-2005, 04:55 PM
Default RE: Aftermarket Exhaust

RiPTOR,

-First, replacing the factory exahust will not void your manufacturer warranty. The exhaust would have to cause a major problem with the engine for Honda to void your warranty.

Exhaust:
There are so many different aftermarket exhaust companies, its ridiculous. There are a few companies that make specfic mufflers for the 600 and 1000 that will fit nicely. I have seen a few that look like complete **** (crooked) due to the battery box on the underside of the tail. All aftermarket exhaust will add around the same amount of horsepower. The difference between brands could differ from 0.5 to 1 horse, which you would never notice. Most people can't utilize the power they have in general. I will list a few along with my opinion.

Arrow: Expensive, full system available, MotoGP look and excellent workmanship, my favorite sound
Micron: Specfic muffler design for the CBR, good price, good sound