600 Modifications This section is specifically for questions and advice pertaining to mods of the current 600 models.

Whats the point?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2009, 04:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Whats the point?

In these chain conversions, ive looked around for answers but couldn't ever find what I was looking for. Im still learning about bikes so I really don't know exactly what everyone is talking about all the time lol. But I see people wanting to do 520kits? Whats the purpose in that, and what are they stock(f4i).

Old 07-03-2009, 05:00 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't have any first hand experience with chain kits but from what I have read o nthe forum I think the numbers like 520 525 530 is referring to the chains pitch.

some people say that 520 chains are lighter therefore lighter rotational mass....but some say that is bs and that the gains are negligible. 520 chains will supposedly wear out quicker. If you decide to change to a 520 kit you will also have to change your sprockets..front and back

f4i stock pitch is 525.

Old 07-03-2009, 05:07 PM

Originally Posted by chetman7
I don't have any first hand experience with chain kits but from what I have read o nthe forum I think the numbers like 520 525 530 is referring to the chains pitch.

some people say that 520 chains are lighter therefore lighter rotational mass....but some say that is bs and that the gains are negligible. 520 chains will supposedly wear out quicker. If you decide to change to a 520 kit you will also have to change your sprockets..front and back

f4i stock pitch is 525.
So it sounds to me there's nothing wrong with just keeping the 525. Besides it being a bit heavier? I really don't see the point.

Old 07-03-2009, 05:16 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yea just keep the 525

Old 07-09-2009, 04:24 PM