600 Modifications This section is specifically for questions and advice pertaining to mods of the current 600 models.

"tuning" F4/F4i computer?

  #1  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 248
Default "tuning" F4/F4i computer?

I'm coming from late model performance (LS1 camaros and trucks) and always used a laptop with HPtuners (software and data cable) to interface/rewrite the factory computer. Does such a thing exist for our bikes? How does one go about tuning the F4/F4i computers?

Chris
 
  #2  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:24 PM
F34Me?'s Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 573
Default

Power Commander III USB.
 
  #3  
Old 06-17-2011, 09:25 PM
F34Me?'s Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 573
Default

Mods: please delete this post. Thanks!
 

Last edited by F34Me?; 06-17-2011 at 09:32 PM.
  #4  
Old 06-17-2011, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 248
Default

Ouch! Those things are NOT cheap!

So this is an add-on that manipulates the factory injector timing? I noticed they also have a module for adjusting spark timing. Same thing as well?

I was hoping there would be a true "re-flash" of the factory computer.
 
  #5  
Old 06-17-2011, 10:49 PM
F34Me?'s Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 573
Default

I don't think you can mess directly with the ECU. For the F4i you can set the PC3 to control the fuel and spark. You can load custom maps or tune the bike yourself with a dyno. There is also a quick shifter which allows clutchless shifting. It is nearly $1000 for the works... I looked into it when I first got my bike and laughed myself to the close button.
 
  #6  
Old 06-18-2011, 12:21 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 248
Default

Yeah that's kind of my feeling as well ($1000 for a bunch of add-on stuff?).....

Makes me kind of think sticking with the carbs (I have an 99 F4) might just be the way to go. I need to replace a bunch of the rubber pieces in the carbs and thus thought it MIGHT be more cost effective to scout out ebay for the 4i parts but now I see I would need another $1000 worth of add-ons to tune it.
 
  #7  
Old 06-18-2011, 12:59 AM
itlnF4I's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: winterhaven, fl
Posts: 341
Default

bikes just use piggy back systems that lie to the ecu and make it do what you want instead of what the stock sensor readings would make it do. carbs are probably a cheaper route with just a jet kit, but just like a carbed car, your not going to get as accurate of a tune with it vs. fuel injection
 
  #8  
Old 07-09-2011, 03:25 PM
mark1200's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 117
Default

why coulnt u just buy used throttlebodys , ecu, and parts from an f4i ?
 
  #9  
Old 07-09-2011, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 248
Default

Originally Posted by mark1200 View Post
why coulnt u just buy used throttlebodys , ecu, and parts from an f4i ?
I plan to (if I go with fuel injection), but I would like to be able to tune the ecu when I make changes.
 
  #10  
Old 07-10-2011, 06:37 AM
mark1200's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 117
Default

I see.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mrsmobbins101
CBR 954RR
13
04-01-2013 11:07 AM
xp3085
F2 Tech
2
04-21-2011 07:05 PM
jun167
CBR 954RR
1
09-03-2009 06:06 PM
KenG
CBR1000F For Sale / Found
7
08-09-2009 05:20 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: "tuning" F4/F4i computer?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.