F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

CBR F2 Rear brake squishy/ not working

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 06:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CBR F2 Rear brake squishy/ not working

I have no brakes in the back. pressure is almost non-existing on pedal, it goes all the way down without providing any stopping power. I'm new to cbrs and don't know if the calipers are supposed to move around a lot (free floating brakes) or if there are parts broken/missing. Next thought would be my brake master cylinder for the rear. Front brake works great. Anybody know about this and how to troubleshoot and fix it? The bike is new to me, so any help would be great! Thanks

Old 03-22-2012, 07:25 PM
Retired Super Moderator - At large E=MC2
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Start with a fluid swap, sounds like air in the lines. Just keep adding fluid at the MC,
pump on the pedal several times and then hold it down, crack the valve open to let
fluid flow out through clear tubing into a jar. The end of the tube should be below the
surface of the fluid in the jar. This will prevent air from being pulled, back into the system.

Close valve, release pedal and then do it again and again...

After a time, you will see the fluid get clear and clean and the pedal will start to
stiffen as you pump it down. I will get it to stiffen up and then re-visit it the following day.
That gives time to allow any agitated bubbles to surface and float to the top.

It will allow you to be more through and successful on the second pass.

You should also consider, re-packing the boots for the hanger bolts,
those little accordians, where the calipers are mounted to the bike.

Good luck, Ern

Old 03-22-2012, 11:00 PM