Track Days & Riding Schools This section is for the announcement of open track days and educational riding school events.

Lean Angle - Scraping Pegs - Help

Old 11-05-2006, 04:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lean Angle - Scraping Pegs - Help

Kind of an odd topic, but couldn't think of a better way to word it.

Ok, so here's the down low... (And this is a bit long winded before it gets to my actual question... just lots of qualifying details...)

Let's see. I've been riding off and on for 12 years. After crashing and totaling my 05 R1 earlier this year, I bought a 2001 CBR 929 used. After looking at some mountain videos a few months back, I noticed that my body was leaned off the bike in turns, but my bike's lean angle was almost non existant.

So with this, and having a full suit, I decided it was time to learn to put a knee down. After a day of practicing in a huge local parking lot, I could get my pucks to the ground on both sides. Having noticed an amazing difference in my personal "tilt meter", I decided it was time to try a track.

Well, any of you from CO know that most of our tracks have disappeared over the last year, and that left 3 tracks. 2 real, this 1 mile long go-kart track that they let people take bikes on.

So I get together a group of friends, and we keep hitting up this track. Right away on day 1, I was able to get my knees down and felt comfortable with my lean angle.

Every time I go to the track I like to practice something new... Last time to the track I played around with trail braking alot, and got fairly comfortable with transfering my traction from brakin, to leaning. No crashes or problems there.

So after that track day probably 2 months ago, I decided I needed to learn how to blip the throttle on down shifting. I must say that I use rev matching in my daily riding now... couldn't imagine it any other way.