Street Skills Information to keep you from rashing your bike or yourself. Safe riding techniques only please.

What to do in traffic trap?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2011, 11:01 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What to do in traffic trap?

Just as a note I am new to riding. I have two weeks under my belt now and I got caught in a situation and wondered what you all feel is the correct action. I have no pics or diagrams so I will set the scene. Three lanes (US) solid traffic; a left turn, center and right (straight/turn) with a cement divider next to the left turn. I am in the center.
This is where the situation starts, with an ambulance that needs to get through. Obviously the vehicles try to maneuver out of the way. Now my question: how do you make yourself known? I had a truck I dont think noticed me and was becoming a threat of squishing me like a bug. (BTW) dont forget making noise is practically useless when you have a wailing siren and flashy lights within 10-15 ft. Thanks for your feedback.

Old 04-10-2011, 11:10 AM

If you cant use the horn and the cager dosent see you, move. They are not worried about you, you have to watch for them.

Old 04-10-2011, 11:18 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by backyardmechanic
If you cant use the horn and the cager dosent see you, move. They are not worried about you, you have to watch for them.
Pretty much.

You should still have the advantage of mobility, agility and size. You should also already have escape routes at least mentally prepared.

In a situation like this you may have to use the other cars around you as additional armor. The trucker may not be aware of you and could not hear your horn. But he is more than likely aware of the other cages as he began maneuvering to give the ambulance clearance. So put the other cages between you and him in some manner.

Old 04-10-2011, 07:42 PM