Street Skills Information to keep you from rashing your bike or yourself. Safe riding techniques only please.

shifting above 10+ rpm

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 03:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default shifting above 10+ rpm

ive been riding my 08 600rr for about 3 months, i love it, every penny spent every form of nagging from the miss is well worth it.

the past few months ive been shifting at 7-9 rpm and its been smooth and instantaneous no problem. yesterday and today ive been trying to shift at 10+ rpm and its a little scary.. the bike just jerks and a few times i think the front wheel came up.. is it from the sprockets being geard and the 520? or is it from me pulling the throttle too much while releasing the clutch? thank you in advance,

-justin

Old 07-07-2010, 04:24 PM

well if your twisting the throttle to much when letting out the clutch its gunna definetly jump especially if its geared thats how you do wheelies by poppin the clutch like that, gotta find the nice median of throttle and clutch for smooth shifts try less throttle or no throttle when releasin after shifting for awhile and work your way up on the throttle from there till you get nice smooth shifts

Last edited by stretch_the_apex; 07-07-2010 at 04:26 PM.
Old 07-08-2010, 08:16 PM

that makes sense, can i still have the throttle at like 5rpm or so and release the clutch? just went for a 10 min ride and tried it, my shifting is improving and becoming a little smoother shifting at those rpms.. thank you apex

Old 07-09-2010, 11:44 AM

no prob, its like shifting a stick shift car, you want to put a little throttle down when clutch is all most let out enough to keep the rpms stable but not climbing until the clutch is completly out if that makes any sense at least for normal ridin, you'll see when you get some good ride time in you'll have no problems with it

Old 07-09-2010, 11:46 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm not even gonna ask where the phuq your riding like that at lol