Street Skills Information to keep you from rashing your bike or yourself. Safe riding techniques only please.

Overcoming mental blocks when riding?

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2018, 06:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overcoming mental blocks when riding?

Hi guys. New member. Bought a 2003 cbr600rr a few months ago.
So I have a question for y'all. But I'll give y'all a bit of backstory so maybe it makes a bit more sense.
This cbr is not my first bike. It's my 5th. It's also not my first 600. Just my first cbr. Usually I'm a Yamaha fan. I've been riding for about 10 years. I'm 25. My issue is that I am having trouble making myself lay this cbr over. I know it is a mental thing, because I know the bike will take curves a lot faster than I do. I never had trouble with it before. I would take turns fast enough on my ninja and my Yamaha to be sliding a bit in the turn and be fine. But for some reason I can't make myself do it now. Whenever a sharp turn comes up I panic a little and slow down way more than I need to. More than even cars would usually. I've been trying to make myself do it but I'm not having much luck. Im pretty sure I have decent posture and technique. I've done it before without issue. It's just mental. How did you guys get yourselves to trust your bike more and ride faster?

sorry if this question is sorta strange. I'm kinda confused myself.
Thanks

Old 01-21-2018, 07:48 PM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Find a nice road with a good turn or set of turns. Do it over and over and over again. Each time focus on your line, throttle control through it, and body position. Tweak each as necessary each time until you get so used to it that it becomes boring. Then do it some more. You will find yourself confident and properly attacking the corner on that bike.

Old 01-24-2018, 03:40 PM
Received 30 Likes on 28 Posts