Street Skills Information to keep you from rashing your bike or yourself. Safe riding techniques only please.

New rider looking for some pointers

Old 06-29-2012, 10:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New rider looking for some pointers

Hey guys,

I am brand new at riding (about 3 weeks) and am seeking a couple of pointers to help me out. I have already completed the MSF course and I feel that it helped establish some fundamentals, but it in no way prepares you for being on the real road. After I completed the course I took the bike (02 F4i) out around my neighborhood the first week, and then to school and other areas after. I am getting the hang of things, but I am still having certain problems. I have ready the entire thread of what new riders shouldn't do...

First- I stalled out a couple of times at red lights...I know where the friction zone is, but I usually do not use any throttle until the clutch is completely engaged. Meaning I let off the clutch slowly until it is fully out, then I start to throttle...I know you're supposed mix throttle slowly as the clutch gets closer to engaging..just wondering if there is a trick to make it as smooth as possible. Because I know I am taking off like a grandma lol.

Also, any help with turns from red lights? I need to work on making them a bit tighter..

Curves- I am getting a bit more confident taking some curves now that I am getting better at counter steering...your bike really does the work for you once you get it to lean a bit. Just wondering if there are any other tips for coming off/getting on highway/interstate ramps (those things get pretty curvy, and the speed taking them I imagine is higher than regular road curves....at least for a noob like me)