CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Street Skills (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/)
-   -   To ground the bike or to take a leap of death (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/ground-bike-take-leap-death-130768/)

estate4life 09-13-2011 02:02 PM

To ground the bike or to take a leap of death

I understand this is a very sensitive question, but i cannot resist asking. I've been riding for about 20 years, and luckily I never (knock on wood) had been in such position and thank god for blessing.

One buddy of mine riding for many years said, when it comes a time ( knowing all of the CBR owners love their bikes so very much, would not want to let go) that you must make the decision to swerve & ground your bike or to jump and take a leap of death, to avoid being hit by stupid drivers. Drivers that are texting,drunk, using their smartphone or whatever the case... Cars don't see
you. Such incident most relate to a car trying to
make a left turn and don't see you. Don't matter if
they are making a left turn coming out from a
driveway or facing you on opposing traffic try to
make a left. They just don't see us and pull out
going right at us... If anyone can swerve and
maneuver out ofte way & avoid accident is best
result...but what if there is nothing you can do to
avoid collision(hard front braking with rear &
downshift engine braking)
Would you:
1. Just give up and be hit as is? Let it be.....
2. Swerve away a little then ground the bike and try to run/walk/ roll away on foot.
3. Take a jump/leap of death over the car and hope no other cars will hit you after you land & slide for
how many yards?
I understand being a CBR owner & love my bike so
much. Last thing I'll do is let her go... But if in such
incident, what do one do...?

It's very scary especially after seeing what happen in UTAH: