CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Street Skills (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/)
-   -   Downhill Twisties question (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/downhill-twisties-question-123965/)

zophar 04-15-2011 05:33 PM

Downhill Twisties question

While I am fairly new to street bike riding, I have been riding dirt bikes and quads for a long time.
I am on year 3 of my motorcycle riding and decided t go with sport bikes because cruisers just seem so "single purposed".

Anyway, to my point. I go through flat or uphill twisties and feel fairly confident at leaning into and through the turn, and maintain a good pace for having a 150 back tire.
When I come into twisties dowhill I always feel like I am overshooting the turn and cant lean in or that I lean too far and the back tire feels loose as I am out of the throttle.

I have been dumped by bikes and quads alike on dirt, and don't wish to feel the pavement at 40+ mph while playing in the twisty roads here. What do you guys do when coming into downhill twisties to glide through them?

I am sure a 180 rear tire would help a lot, but I don't have that option with my old CBR F1.
Any pointers would be great, and is it possibly just a confidence thing seeing as I find myself worrying about laying the bike down?

BurtonSnwBoarder 04-15-2011 06:35 PM

Originally Posted by zophar (Post 1039641)
While I am fairly new to street bike riding, I have been riding dirt bikes and quads for a long time.
I am on year 3 of my motorcycle riding and decided t go with sport bikes because cruisers just seem so "single purposed".

Anyway, to my point. I go through flat or uphill twisties and feel fairly confident at leaning into and through the turn, and maintain a good pace for having a 150 back tire.