CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Street Skills (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/)
-   -   Could you help a newbie understand, please? Braking & turning (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/could-you-help-newbie-understand-please-braking-turning-118281/)

MZ5 11-01-2010 11:42 PM

Could you help a newbie understand, please? Braking & turning

I'm new to street bikes. Mine is a '00 F4, and it seems to be a good bike. I ride my bike to work and back, and that's about it. I'm in my late 30s and have a family, if that helps slightly with some perspective as to where I'm coming from. I rode dirt bikes a lot when I was younger, but mostly just for fun (not actual racing, most of the time). I also used to autocross a fair amount, and when I was very small, Dad was a road racer (cars, not bikes).

What I'm struggling with a little is braking and turning. The IdahoSTAR class taught us to completely finish braking before even starting to turn. Then, roll on the throttle and then start to lean/turn. I understand the theory there; it's a very safe way to do it. I'm having a bit of trouble, though, making myself actually do it. I'm a trail-braker because of my autocrossing and dirt biking background. I don't trail-brake the street bike much, but I do do it and I'm fairly sure it's because the way they taught us to ride the bikes is the S-L-O-W way to drive a car around a track.

Again, I'm a commuter, and I DON'T push this bike anywhere remotely close to its probable limits. I'm in town, and we have quite a few patches of gravel on the streets in many intersections for most of the year. That saps any confidence I might otherwise gain, but even at that I find myself trail-braking sort of by default.