CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Street Skills (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/)
-   -   Almost bit it today (https://cbrforum.com/forum/street-skills-89/almost-bit-today-114923/)

ljastangs21 08-08-2010 02:08 AM

Almost bit it today

So im pretty new to riding and I think I almost made a major mistake. I was at a stop light turning left when I realized I was going to far out. I panicked and let go of the throttle and didnt pull in the clutch. The bike jerked hard because I was still in first gear and it felt like the back wheel actually slide a little. I thought I was gonna high-side for sure.

I learned from my mistake and havent done that since. What should I have done in the situation?

Kuroshio 08-08-2010 07:19 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Tough answer without really knowing the situation.

When I'm going wide in a turn it's usually because I either
  • Misjudged my entry speed
  • I'm still accelerating instead of using maintenance throttle
Just a guess but since you said you panicked you prolly also target fixated on where you were going too.

Generally my solution is the same when I'm swinging wide.
  • Look harder through the turn
  • Lean down more
  • Use the throttle to maintain my speed through the turn

I have to trust Ororo to see me through the mistake provided I quit screwing her up :p Looking where you want (even need) to go and your body want to do what's necessary to get there naturally. Follow those instincts and you'll be on your way to safely correcting the mistake. It'll be hard since you'll prolly be on the edge of panicking, harder if you already are. But
Attachment 54277