CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Sights 'N Sounds (https://cbrforum.com/forum/sights-n-sounds-7/)
-   -   Fryup's Tour De Wales 13 (https://cbrforum.com/forum/sights-n-sounds-7/fryups-tour-de-wales-13-a-149041/)

Fryup2000 09-08-2013 07:24 AM

Fryup's Tour De Wales 13

37 Attachment(s)
Hi All,

I am on leave for two weeks with not much planned so decided to pack my bags and do a tour of Wales, UK for a few days by myself.

I have been riding for 9 months now (CBR being my first bike) and have never toured before so i decided to do something reasonably close to home.

Before I left I picked up a pair of Oxford Lifetime Luggage Pannier Bags from eBay and an assortment of camping gear including sleeping bag and roll mat and already had a tent from years ago.

I planned a 3 day tour covering mid and north Wales as I am reasonably familiar with the south. I am based near Bristol so actually getting to Wales is only a 30 minute drive.

I planned my route using a giant wall map, highlighting roads that had been recommended to me by friends and websites I found.

My route was as follows:
Day 1 - 180 Miles (5 Hours)
Bristol>Chepstow>Monmouth>Vowchurch>Kington>Llandr idod Wells>Newtown>Llanwyddyn>Y Bala

Day 2 - 242 Miles (7 Hours)
Y Bala>Llyn Cely>Betws-Y-Coed>Conwy>Bangor>Penmon>Benllech>Amlwch>Tregele>H olyhead>Beddgelert>Dolgellau>Machynlleth>Llanidloe s>Devils Bridge

Day 3> 173 Miles (5 Hours)
Devils Bridge>Tregaron>Lampeter>Llandovery>Brecon>Merthyr Tydfil>Abergavenny>Monmouth>Chepstow>Bristol

Planned total mileage - 595
Total actual mileage - 640 (getting lost and repeating nice roads :D)

To make things a little more interesting for myself I relied on my direction list (taped to my fuel tank) and didnt use any maps or GPS.