CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Riding Skills (https://cbrforum.com/forum/riding-skills-88/)
-   -   What exactly is happening? (https://cbrforum.com/forum/riding-skills-88/what-exactly-happening-110137/)

Preid 05-05-2010 08:35 PM

What exactly is happening?

Ive been riding for 6-7 months now and Ive covered almost 8000 mile. Theres two things I experience which Im not entirely sure whats happening.

The first happens alot when its raining. Im driving in a straight line and I brake heavily. About 95% front and 5% on the rear. Now it feels like the back end is floating. I've managed to get the same rear floating effect round gentle bends aswel.

Second happens mostly when its wet but sometimes in the dry. If Im crusing at 70mph and im going round a gentle corner. When I hit the centre line and Im slightly on the power I get this sudden wobbling sensation. It only lasts a split second and Its like the snaking you get when youre hard on the power on offroad bikes.

Kuroshio 05-05-2010 08:47 PM

In the first situation is sounds like the back end is hydroplaning. You've loaded the front, the rear is light and surface traction is down because of the water / gravel.

Really dunno about the 2nd one. I can guess but it'd be an uneducated one. Maybe one of the racers?

Cory E 05-10-2010 12:08 PM

My experience on a bike is very new, but i have done a great deal of research before i even rode. Many road markings such as HOV symbols, Reflective Road Paint, and others have a different texture than the road and have different reactions to water. My guess is the center line's paint doesn't absorb moisture as much as the untreated road, causing a little slick spot in the road.

canhead64 05-10-2010 12:23 PM