CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Riding Skills (https://cbrforum.com/forum/riding-skills-88/)
-   -   turning/leaning question (https://cbrforum.com/forum/riding-skills-88/turning-leaning-question-127903/)

f4iadam 07-07-2011 12:19 AM

turning/leaning question

hey all,
im new to the bike scene, so bear with me and my questions as im learning to ride.
before i ask my question i will say, i am going to take the msf course!

so today i was practicing with my bike, its a 01 F4I, and i was practicing the friction zone with the clutch. i almost tipped it once but did not go down lol. once i got comfortable i started out in a straight line with just the clutch and did fine, didnt fall. i was even able to make u turns on my street between the 2 curbs with out falling, im very suprised. once i got comfortable i started playing with the gears and went to 4th and the started braking and down shifting, and did pretty well.

my question is, if i lean it feels like the bike is going to drop. is this just because im going under 20 mph? i see people riding bikes and when they come to a stop on the street making a right turn, they seem to lean into the turn, i know they are not going over 20mph lol. so is there a trick to it?
i think i did it subconciously pulling in from the street to the driveway but im not sure lol.
sorry if this is a dumb question but im new.

thank you for everyones time who responds.

Monkeh 07-07-2011 02:15 AM

YouTube - ‪honda cbr 600 f4i 2005 japan gymkhana‬‏

UnderAssumedName 07-07-2011 08:22 AM

You can go much slower than 20 and still make a nice turn. The secret is clutch friction zone + pulling engine + a little bit of rear brake (plus counter leaning when going really slow or the turn is really tight). You can easily make a slow/tight turn which the combination above but once you pull in the clutch, the bike will drop!