Riding Gear Questions and reviews about jackets, helmets, gloves, etc.

Need tips about helmet and gear

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2011, 08:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need tips about helmet and gear

Hi guys, i have some questions for more experienced riders.

I have bought my bike some days ago and now i have to buy the gear and a new helmet(i have an old one that i used with my brother's scooter but it's not good for a bike).
I have a 2007/2008 CBR 600 RR in the classic red/black color scheme(italian one). Here's my first question:

-should i find a full matching gear(so a red/black helmet with a red/black suite) or i'll waste too much time?

I've been browsing Dainese and M-Tech websites, some stores etcetera but it seems no-one produces red/black suites..well matching for me is important. The alternative, to me, is to go with a full black suite and a red/black helmet. I just want it to look really good and not just to protect me and have some clown colors on.

The second and third questions are:

- what brands of helmet do you suggest?
- what brands of suites do you suggest?

I've been told to look up X-Lite and HJC(both used in SBK and MotoGP) and they seem good, just wanted to know if there's other alternatives. I'm NOT going with the Jap ones because when it comes to helmet the price rises up a lot for the same quality.

For the suites..i've got my last question(sorry for my english on this one):

- should i buy a full one or the ones you can "cut in two" (don't know the work .-. )?

I've been told that the full ones are more comfortable because the other ones are tighter where you unite them, so some riders told me "buy a full one and a jacket for shorter rides". Fact is i'm not going to the track for at least a year plus my budget isn't that high to permit me to buy both a full suite and a jacket since my dad's paying for it.