[CBR125R] Starting my "Wrenching" Career

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2018, 11:17 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default [CBR125R] Starting my "Wrenching" Career

Hi Ladies and Gentlemen,

I'll be the first to acknowledge that short of changing tyres and adding/changing fluids to my car, I'm a useless mechanic. However, I would like to start learning, specifically about my bike (A 2007 Honda CBR125R). I should also note I just started my riding career, not 2 months ago. I passed my Motorcycle Safety Course (mandatory here), but it doesn't teach anything past knowing where your headlights and blinkers are :P.

The problem's backstory:

The Problem:
The clutch handle & mirror were sheared off the bike + the blinker being damaged. The blinker is a bit weird. The indicator remains solid if I signal towards the damaged blinker, but blinks normally if signaling the other way. Is this an electrical issue?) Additionally, the bike is idling pretty rough (like noticeable shaking up and down. Not sure what is causing that either.) The problem is, I don't know what I need to replace, and what comes included in the various kits from Honda. I'd like to do as much without the assistance of a mechanic (although I do have a family friend I can [probably] reach out to [who works on motorcycles and cars]).

Here is what I know. I need a replacement clutch handle. The mirror itself it still OK, but the thing it was mounted to, was torn off the bike (A metal bit. I'll post pics of what I'm talking about). I looked into
, which seems easy enough to do, and I know I'll need to

When I spoke to Honda on the phone, they were concerned about potentially needing to replace the bracket? Not sure what that is (or is it the thing my mirror was mounted to?), or if it's Honda trying to sell a currently useless part to me, or more likely me just not explaining it correctly [to them].

Input is appreciated! (I'm Canadian, by the way. So most American links should be fine!)