CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   Other Models (125, 250, 400) (https://cbrforum.com/forum/other-models-125-250-400-66/)
-   -   CBR 250r first wreck - won't start (https://cbrforum.com/forum/other-models-125-250-400-66/cbr-250r-first-wreck-wont-start-142243/)

ewilli 09-26-2012 10:50 AM

CBR 250r first wreck - won't start

Hey all,

I'm new here (wrong thread, I know), and I am pretty new to the biking world and was hoping to get some insight from those of you who have more experience.

The other night I was riding my 2011 Honda CBR 250r at night on one of my favorite windy roads. I took a turn too fast and while I was bringing the bike up to brake, I applied the brakes too early and she slid on her left side and into a grassy bank. Luckily I am fine and really only have a raspberry on my knee (thank God for good gear), but now I can not get my bike to start. It seems to me that most of the damage is cosmetic. The fairings are scratched up and some are slightly bent as well as my left turn signal isn't securely fastened (it is dangling a little bit and the wires are exposed). The left footrest was ripped off in the wreck and the shifter seems to be a little bent, but I was still able to shift gears and everything. The clutch was rotated around, and seems a little bent, but still is engaging when I pull on it. All turn signals, brake lights, and console lights are working, but when I press the starter, there is nothing. It doesn't make any attempt to turn over or even a click like I've come to expect. I'm not sure if this matters, but she was probably on her side for ~5 min before I stood her back up.

I am probably one of the biggest newbies you will run into and have very little mechanical knowledge, but any and all suggestions are welcome. I really want to get back on my bike and get her fixed back up so I can continue to enjoy my new hobby.