Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Maintenance Discouragement

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2012, 12:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Maintenance Discouragement

Hey guys,

So im still very new to riding (it's been about 3 weeks total now) and I laid down my bike for the first time traveling at about 40 mph a week into riding. I bought my bike on Craigslist and now Im starting to see the things that need to be repaired and maintained more regularly, but after laying the bike down I've already had to replace a few parts. I haven't been able to take my bike into a shop yet since my accident, but it has still been rideable. Today on my way to school (15 minutes before my finance final nonetheless) my chain just breaks right off and breaks the chain guard with it. I was planning on cleaning and lubing it yesterday (it had only been exactly 300 miles since the last time I lubed it) but of course there was no time with studying for finals, but Im not sure that would have prevented this.

I guess my point is, Im mechanically challenged - and I was looking at owning a bike as a learning experience! But three weeks into this whole process I'm just feeling pretty bummed out with how much things break, need maintaining (when I don't know exactly how to do it) and how much everything costs to repair. I just really wanted to vent, and hopefully someone out there has felt the same before and just came out of this little hump because I absolutely love riding, it's the most exciting thing I've done!

Is there any shame in just taking my bike to a mechanic and just saying, "Here it is! Can you fix it for me?"

Old 12-12-2012, 01:15 PM
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

There is no shame in asking a mechanic to fix your bike, if you are not mechanically inclined remember it is your life on that bike.