Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

Love my company's customer service

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2010, 03:34 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Red face Love my company's customer service

I'm a technician for a cable company. When I call in, my acct identifies me as an employee. And yet the phone jockeys act like I'm a completely clueless caller.

Me: "Hi I'm having trouble with my services. I've got tiling on the channels in the upper frequencies. And the signal / noise ratio on the DOCSIS channels are fluctuating causing my CHSI to run slow"

(Ok, this is a flag. Average customer don't know what channels are on which frequencies, don't know how to check the SNR and don't use the technical terms "Docsis" / "CHSI" / "tiling")
Them: "Oh, I'm sorry to hear that. What you need to do is disconnect your cable box for 20 minutes"
Me: "Um... Are you serious?"
Them: "Yes sir. We need to clear the buffer on your box"
Me: "Oh... You are serious. That won't do anything but waste 20 minutes of my life"
Them: "Well I can't continue troubleshooting until you do"
Me: "Don't bother. Just send a technician"
Them: "I can't send a technician until you try this"
Me: "My acct should be flagged as an employee. I am a technician"
Them: "Then why are you calling?"
Me: "Because I don't have my 20' extention ladder, I'm restricted from doing work on my own line if I did and I work in a different area so I can't call maint directly"
Them: "Well did you try unplugging your box?"
Me:

I get why customers are ready to kill me the second I knock on the door. And for the record
  • Unplugging your box for 1 second is enough to reset it
  • Unplugging the box actually only forces it to reacquire the OOB channel and refresh its config from the office
  • Video and Internet use mutually exclusive frequencies so trouble with both would indicate a signal issue at / to the dmark

Old 05-23-2010, 04:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts